What Do I Do If The Person Next To Me Gets All The Praise

I was never the girl whom you will have a second glance with – I am Fat, Short, Boyish, and obviously doesn’t belong to the ‘lovelies’. I am trying to be honest here. I know, I know… God did not create anything ugly. This is not about God though, this is about society. Let’s just say a girl like me doesn’t deserve to be looked at by hot and handsome guys. Even the good-hearted ones prefer their ladies to be lovely. 

I am a christian and even though I look like this, I still have standards when it comes to men. Sometimes I would tell myself ‘the heck with standards, I’m going to flirt’. But that doesn’t come in handy. I never do that. Sometimes people like me do flirtation because of desperation (no offense).

On the upside, I am hardworking, caring, friendly, and bubbly,  and a little bit smart which surprisingly men of this generation doesn’t like. I have friends and they are all skinny, lovely and successful. I only have the latter though. Everywhere I go, the girl next to me always gets the attention. Men will always recognize them and shower them compliments while I stand there agreeing to whatever they say though deep inside I’m secretly wishing he’ll give me one compliment – but nothing is coming, the compliment was never coming. 

There came a point in my life that I feel insecure about these people, like I don’t want them around because everytime they are around, they are stealing the spotlight from me. Some people compliment me about how fast and accurate I work, but I guess for ladies, that wasn’t enough. I don’t wear make up or even a little of  loose powder. I still believe in the saying ‘simplicity is beauty’. I don’t want to hide my real beauty with layers and layers of make up. I want my man to like me the way I am. And so far, in my 24 years of existence, I only attract girls (comment for questions about this one).

 So what do I really do when people compliment the girl beside me? Simple.

I smile and feel the world closing down on me. OR I smile and politely excuse myself from shame. OR I smile and agree with the giver of the compliment. OR I pretend not to hear anything and politely walk away. 

You can never be comfortable when the girl next to you gets all the compliment and not even one for you. I suggest you do the things I’ll do and I guarantee survival for you.

On the otherhand…

To all the girls who feel exactly the way I do, the right person is coming. We’ll just have to wait for the moment and prepare ourselves to whatever God has in store for us. We can never question God’s timing or purpose for our lives, we just have to believe that everything has a reason and everything will fall into place at the perfect moment. We are all beautiful, don’t let society tell you that you aren’t. Sometimes it hurts, sometimes it breaks us but that’s life was all about. Stop listening to society and start believing that God has a perfect plan for you. 

Leave a comment